DIY Photo Coasters

6 Feb

Happy Monday! So after our big trip to Turkey a couple of months back, I had all these beautiful images that I had taken of the ceramic tiles in Topkapi Palace that I didn’t know what to do with. I also noticed around this time that our table in our basement was getting a little bit of damage from us setting our glasses directly on it. Then it happened when I was browsing the web… my “ah ha!” moment. I’d make coasters!!!

Here’s where gave me the GREAT idea.

And here’s what I made.

Aren’t these perfect!? I can’t believe I didn’t think of it sooner.

They were actually super easy. All I needed were some cheap tiles from Lowes (like $.50 each), some Mod Podge, a sponge brush, a laser printed image (inkjet will run!), a clear sealer, and some pads for the bottom.

  1. Cut paper to size of the tile. You can also use tissue paper, newspaper (it might run but I feel like it would work), wrapping paper…. you get the idea.
  2. If you get beige tiles like I did and don’t want the edges of your tiles to be beige, now is a good time to paint a couple of coats of craft paint on the edges up to the top. (I tried doing it after the paper was on the tile, but that was quite a bit of work not to paint to paper. I suggest painting first).
  3. Put a light coat of Mod Podge evenly on the tile and lay the paper on top. Let dry for around 20 minutes. Repeat around 8 or so times until the edges are sealed and you can’t feel the edge of the paper.
  4. Apply a coat of clear sealer to the top to protect against the moisture from the glasses.

Don’t set hot stuff on them for at least 48 hrs from the last coat of glue; that’s how long it takes for the glue to dry fully.

This is a great idea for family pictures, vacation photos, or with craft paper to add some color to your table.  Try it out and let me know how it worked for you!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

