BBQ Chicken Pizza

28 Aug

Typically Sunday nights we have pizza, or something fast (Chinese) so we can really relax and enjoy the last couple hours of the weekend without the annoyance of cooking dinner. Tonight I decided that pizza would be yummy, but I didn’t want just a frozen one or to order one, so I made one! I made a delicious BBQ chicken pizza! I honestly didn’t think it’d turn out as well as it did so I didn’t take a picture (sorry!), but here’s the “recipe”.

  • Roll of pre-made pizza dough (I got my from Aldi for like $1.50 or something)
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 3/4 red onion
  • BBQ sauce
  • Couple cherry tomatoes
  • olive oil, italian seasoning, and diced garlic
  • 1 cup sprinkle mozzerella cheese and about 1/2 cup sprinkle cheddar cheese

Step 1: Slice chicken and red onion into small slices. Sautee each (in separate pans). Caramelize red onions and cook chicken thru (about 7 minutes) seasoning with salt and pepper.

Step 2: Roll pizza dough out in greased pan. Mix olive oil, italian seasoning, and diced garlic (just a tablespoon of oil should do it). Spread oil with basting brush around crust of pizza. If there’s any extra you can spread it where the sauce usually goes for some extra flavor.

Step 3: Spread a good amount of BBQ sauce (I used Sweet Baby Rays of course). Then begin to layer on this chicken and sauteed onions. I took the chunks of chicken and pulled them apart even further so it wouldn’t be massive bites of chicken. I also added the cut up tomatoes (cut into quarters) and sprinkled.

Step 4: Add a light dusting of Italian seasoning over pizza. Sprinkle pizza evenly with Moz first then cheddar (or whatever cheese you want really).

Step 5: Bake for 15 minutes at 400 degrees or until golden brown.

Step 6: Enjoy!

 

One Response to “BBQ Chicken Pizza”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monday Munchies: BBQ Chicken Pizza Part 2 « Story of a Pink Zebra - August 20, 2012

    […] I know that I already have one post about this but honestly this one turned out way better than this one. I kind of cheated because I used a pre-made wheat crust, which usually isn’t my style, but […]

Leave a Reply

