Turkish Ceramics

16 Oct

Evening!

Many do not know, but the word “turquoise” originated in Turkey to describe the color of blue they often used in paintings.

I was able to visit Topkapi Palace, a 15th century palace of the Ottoman Sultans, and was amazed at the beauty and artistry in their ceramics. I took one picture of one of the walls, and then just kept taking more. Soon I ended up with all these:

All of these tiles are hand painted and beautifully preserved. I’m honestly not sure if I can do anything with them… okay that’s not really the question. I’m not really sure what I want to do with them at the moment. I could really use some suggestions. Any thoughts?

Leave a Reply

