Penguin Party!

30 Oct

Oh babies… gotta love um. I had the honor of hosting a baby shower for my one sister a while back. The concept behind her baby shower was inspired by the decorations for the baby’s nursery (but I’ll show more about that later)… penguins!!

Here are just some of the highlights of the shower b/c (not to toot my own horn) but it turned out pretty cute.

Started out with the invites:

I made these invites out of some blank wedding invites my mom picked up from Michael’s Crafts. I bought the little stamp there too. I designed them in PowerPoint and printed them on my home computer. I then added a band of polka dot ribbon. Since I only had about 25 people at the shower and the invites came in a huge box, I was able to turn some of them into thank you cards and used the RSVP envelopes provided in the box. All said and done, they were only around $20 for everything.

Then the food:

The shower was in the morning at around 10:30 so we got to serve all our favorite brunch foods. I served 3 kinds of quiche, mini monkey bread (cinnamon and sugar on biscuits baked in muffin tins), a fruit salad, and a cous cous salad with my homegrown tomatoes, mozzarella cheese, and homegrown basil. I also made fresh lemonade and tea. Very yummy and super easy!

The Decor:

I hosted the shower in my amazing basement that my hubby so lovingly built (more on that later). While I wanted it to be super nice, I also had to be realistic about the decor, the plates and everything. I found all of the plates, utensils, and napkins, and cups at the Dollar Store, which is a great resource for affordable party supplies. I tied up the utensils with little orange ribbons. The centerpieces I pulled together with some pieces I found from Hobby Lobby. My mom found the little penguins which were a great little touch. I also included little bowls filled with blue rock candy (looks like ice and was my sisters favorite candy growing up) on all of the tables. It was simple decor, but I liked it and I know she did too.

I also asked the guests to bring the preseants wrapped in blue, black and white. This is an easy way to add another pop of color for no cost to the host! The material on the table was actually the crib skirt that my talented mother made for the babys room. Super cute.

Like I said, you gotta love babies. My sweet baby nephew has been here for over a month now, and we are soo happy to have him!

Now I just need to get ready for my next shower in a couple months!

Leave a Reply

