Turkish Dinner: Chicken with Eggplant and Chickpeas

29 Nov

Since our trip my new obsession is trying to cook recipies that we tried overseas. I found this Turkish recipie online and decided to give it a try.  Knowing that Turkish food can be very complex in flavor, I thought for sure I would miss the mark, but I didn’t! I think this is one of my fav meals I’ve made! Here’s the website I grabbed this great recipie from: http://www.turkishcookbook.com/ It can be found under the “Chicken” category and is titled “Chicken with Eggplants and Chickpeas” (Sorry no direct link).

There were only a few minor changes that I made (mostly based on what I had to cook with at the time).

  • I used tomato sauce instead of crushed and added more homegrown cherry tomatos from my garden.
  • I also couldn’t find the pepper his recipie calls for, so I left that out.
  • I replaced the pearl onions with regular white ones that I had in the kitchen.
  • I added some sprinkels of “Ottoman Spice” I picked up from the spice market in Istanbul which really added some punch. This is made with saffron, red chilli flakes, marjoram, salt, pepper and thyme.
  • Lastly, I cut the chicken up into little pieces instead of using the large pieces as he recommends. I thought that it would cook quicker and be easier to eat.

I served the meal over white rice and it was mighty tasty. The olive oil and mint that you top it with is amazing! I grow fresh mint (which is super easy). I need to find something else to put this on. You should try it!

Leave a Reply

