Case of the Mondays?

23 Jan

“Does somebody have a case of the Monday’s?”- Ah Office Space; what a great movie.

Has anyone actually ever asked you that? If you were (and there was something called the Mondays… ) you would be as soon as they asked you I’m sure. Even if no one asks you that ridiculous question, Mondays can be the roughest days of the week in my opinion. You come into work and you have work piled up from the weekend (for those over-achievers) that worked over the weekend), anything that can go wrong does go wrong, and the week looks daunting knowing you have 4 more days to get to the weekend. How am I combating this one might ask? Yoga!

About 3 weeks ago I started taking a yoga class in the workout room at my work. I haven’t taken an exercise class since college when I was in a bit of a workout craze. It’s just an hour-long session from 12-1 on Mondays, but it’s so very worth it. Something that yoga has taught me is to be aware of myself (body and mind), and to breathe. I don’t know how many times a day I actually just stop myself and take a couple deep breaths. Sometimes it’s because I’m stressed, annoyed, about to scream, sometimes it’s just because I’m getting tired and need to get myself re-energized.

I know it’s maybe a little crazy to believe that after only 3 classes I feel better, but honestly I do! It’s just a great way to calm myself, stretch and strengthen my limbs and back. And just feel better! Now… I haven’t fully brought this calm new me to the volleyball court when I’m coaching, but I’ll get there :).

So think now on Mondays embracing a new calm, taking some deep breaths, and just enjoying the fact that you were given yet another week to live.

Have a great week!

One Response to “Case of the Mondays?”

  1. Megan January 30, 2012 at 1:46 pm #

    Yoga during the workday is amazing.

Leave a Reply

