Monday Munchies: White Chicken Chili

19 Mar

So I have to admit that I cooked this a while ago and it’s take me some time to put it up. Since I was in a gym all weekend, I didn’t have time to cook ūüė¶ So sad. Anyway… on to the food.

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds skinless, boneless chicken breast, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 2 cups finely chopped onion
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 2 (4.5-ounce) cans chopped green chiles, undrained
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 (15.5-ounce) cans cannellini beans, rinsed and drained (such as Goya)
  • 1 (14-ounce) can fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 teaspoon hot pepper sauce
  • 1 cup (4 ounces) shredded Monterey Jack cheese (I think I only had white cheese tho)
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 cup chopped green peppers

Now… I will say that this may not be 100% what I actually used because I’m pretty sure I cooked this 2 months ago and I’ll be honest, my memory isn’t that great sometimes.

Preparation:

  • Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add chicken to pan; cook 10 minutes or until browned, stirring frequently.
  • Heat a large Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add onion to pan; saut√© 6 minutes or until tender, stirring frequently. Add garlic; saut√© 2 minutes, stirring frequently. Stir in cumin, dried oregano, and coriander; saut√© 1 minute. Stir in chiles; reduce heat to low, and cook 10 minutes, partially covered. Add the chicken, water, cannellini¬†beans, broth, and green peppers; bring to a simmer. Cover and simmer 10 minutes. Stir in hot sauce. Ladle 1 cup of chili into each of 8 bowls; sprinkle each serving with 2 tablespoons cheese, 1 tablespoon cilantro.

If you’re not loving this recipe, change it up! There are literally thousands of recipes out there like this. I grabbed this one from here.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

