DIY Twine Decorative Accent Balls

23 Mar

So whenever I go visits stores with home accessories I feel like I always see these decorative balls. I mean… these things are everywhere! Me being the cheapo that I am, refuse to pay $3-6 per ball and decided that I’d make my own. I wanted to make ones that were #1 easy and #2 had texture. So I made these:

The steps for these little guys were basically the same process as the twine light fixture that I made here. These were actually slightly more tricky than the fixture because they were so small, but overall I’m pretty happy with the end result maybe not the container they are in…. that probably needs to be changed out. Anyway… on to supplies:

  • Mod Podge (I LOVE this product)
  • Gardening twine or whatever you want to use. String or yarn would work well too.
  • Ballons
  • Toilet paper roll
  • Container for glue

Not to bore you with unnecessary details, but quite simply the process was this:

  1. Mix glue with a little bit of water just to water it down slightly.
  2. Blow balloons up and place on top of cut up toilet paper roll as a “stand”. I blew them up to different sizes for a little mixture.  (PS: if you haven’t blown up a balloon up in a while, get ready. I totally forgot how hard it was to blow little balloons up! My cheeks were all sore. I’m such a baby!
  3. Cut lengths of twine long enough to manage, and one by one, place into glue/water mixture. Pull out of mixture and ring a little out (otherwise it gets a little hard to manage).
  4. Start wrapping! I wrapped most of them randomly trying to go over the blank spots. Two of them I did wrap a little different (top left of the first photo). I like that way too.
  5. After you have them wrapped, set them back on their little stands to dry overnight. The funny thing is that one of the balloons deflated in the middle of the night and the shape turned out more like an egg.
  6. Once they are dry, pop the balloons and pull them out.

That’s just about it! Like I said, it was super easy and I think it turned out really cute!

I only made 6, but since these weer actually pretty easy, I may make some more depending on the container that will be their new home. We’ll see. Have a great weekend!

5 Responses to “DIY Twine Decorative Accent Balls”

  1. anastasiawraight March 23, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    I love this idea. I’ve been looking for a project like this for a while!

  2. Joe March 24, 2012 at 12:03 am #

    Have you thought about hitting them with a little spray paint for color? Think it would work?

    • Story of a Pink Zebra March 26, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

      Well… I am of the belief that you can paint ANYTHING, so yes I believe that would work to spray paint them. But if you wanted more colors, you could use thread, yarn, string, or any other number of items. I actually heard someone talking this weekend about making them out of lace. I’m not sure how that would work though. I just stuck to the twine to keep it simple.

  3. Theresa March 26, 2012 at 11:43 am #

    I am definitely going to pick up a pack of balloons the next time I’m at a store! These look amazing and I can’t believe how easy you claim they are to make. I love the look of combining the different ways of wrapping the twine and I’ll bet the possibilities with color and materials are endless, though I think I like the casual elegance of the bare twine pared with glass for my house too. Keep the good ideas coming!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DIY Jewelry Storage « Story of a Pink Zebra - August 9, 2012

    […] these things, I decided I wanted a little texture so I got out my handy twine that I used here and here as […]

Leave a Reply

