Monday Munchies: Pizza Chicken Breasts

26 Mar

I’m really excited about today’s post because it’s something that I never would have thought of on my own, but it came out so incredibly well I’m sure it will be a family classic now. I mean, who doesn’t like pizza? Even my father that won’t eat cheese on anything likes pizza (yeah I know… it’s crazy that he doesn’t like cheese right?).

I nabbed this recipe from this great blog called the Dashing Dish. Katie has a great style of writing and comes up with some amazing and healthy dishes. She’s even got Weight Watchers points on them! So good.  While my chicken didn’t turn out exactly the same way hers did (I seriously couldn’t get the chicken to roll), the flavor and everything was amazing, and actually really simple.  I stuck mostly to her recipe but I added some items too (I can’t follow recipes exactly to save my life, my hubby can vouch for that).

Here’s what you need:

  • 4 Chicken breasts
  • 3/4 cup mozzarella cheese
  • Pepperonis (Katie’s recipe calls for turkey pepperoni which would have been healthier but I didn’t specify when the Hubs went to the store, so we had regular ones)
  • 1 tbs Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 can of plain tomato sauce
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • Sea salt and pepper

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 375. Take metal cookie sheet, cover with foil and lightly brush with olive oil to help with the sticking.
  2. Lightly season chicken breasts with crushed sea salt and pepper. Place on baking tray.
  3. Mix Garlic salt, cheese, sauce, italian seasoning and spread evenly on chicken breasts. This is where you are supposed to roll them up with the seam on the bottom, but when I did that all the stuff started spilling out and it just wasn’t working, so I opted for the “open face” style of preparation.
  4. Layer pepperoni’s on top (I used about 5 per chicken breast b/c they were huge). Sprinkle with a little more cheese and sauce if you want.
  5. Bake for 30-33 mins. Mine baked right at 30 mins and came out SUPER moist and tasty.

I served these bad boys with a fresh Romane salad with tomatoes, carrots, and mushrooms with an Italian dressing and garlic italian bread that I had buttered (low fat butter of course ;)) and garlic salt. I know part of Katie’s point of this recipe was to cut out the extra carbs, but I just couldn’t resist.

If anyone knows a great way to roll chicken up, please let me know! I even tried flattening them out and it didn’t work. So sad.

Have a great Monday!

4 Responses to “Monday Munchies: Pizza Chicken Breasts”

  1. Karyn March 26, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    mmm definitely gonna try this with the turkey pepperoni!

  2. Joe March 26, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

    Are you supposed to pound the chicken flat? Its the only way I can think of to make a rollup chicken breast.

  3. Megan March 27, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

    This looks amazing! I’m on WW and am always looking for good pizza alternatives. This is great 🙂

  4. Joe March 28, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    Came across a recipe for using cauliflower for the crust! I almost have to try it just to see.

Leave a Reply

