Monday Munchies: Goat Cheese and Tomato Dip

2 Apr

Some of you may know I spent 7 months in Spain during my junior year of college and that began my passion for cooking. Mostly I had to learn how to cook out of necessity because there were no fast food joints around. When I got home I immediately wanted to visit all of the Spanish restaurants in St. Louis. At one such restaurant, Barcelona, there is a dish that I love, love, love called “Queso de Cabra al Horno” and I paid super close attention to it last time I ate it there so I could make it again, so after that long winded intro, here it is!

Ingredients:

  • Can of tomato sauce (unflavored or you can mix it up with Italian or onion/mushroom)
  • Small goat cheese “tube” (again, there are tons of flavors so play with flavors. Iused plain for this version.)
  • Crushed red pepper flakes
  • Garlic salt, sea salt, ground pepper

Steps:

  1. Empty can of tomato sauce in baking dish and add goat cheese. I usually make 3 or 4 small balls of the cheese and spread around the dish.
  2. Sprinkle red peppers, ground black pepper, and both salts to taste.
  3. Broil on low for around 20 mins until it gets lightly browned on top.
  4. Stir tomato and goat cheese and mix all up. Serve with crusty french bread (I usually serve mine with garlic bread).

That’s it! It’s super simple and I seriously haven’t met anyone that hasn’t liked it when I’ve served it as an app before dinner.

I actually served this the other night with a hot sausage link sauteed with garlic, fresh green beans, in a red wine sauce. Very yummy.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

