DIY Chalkboard Paint

18 Apr

I am still alive… I swear. I’ve been so busy lately but I won’t go another full week without posting again! Anyway, on to today’s post.

What’s a great craft room without somewhere to write down all your thoughts? Exactly. That’s why I decided to add a chalkboard to my craft room wall that was in such despirate need of attention. I didn’t want to go buy any more paint b/c I figured the Mr. would kill me with how many cans of paint we have sitting around here. And I thought I wanted some balance for the crazy accent wall I painted on the other side of the room, so I thought I’d figure out how to make my paint into chalkboard paint. I’d heard that it could be done, so I hopped on the internets (yup, plural) and found a recipe that was super simple: 2 tablespoons unsanded grout to 1 cup of paint. That was it. Luckily we have a HUGE bag of grout left over from our tiny tiling project on the downstairs bar and they only sell it in 10 lb bags. Sweet.

So I got out a pencil and sketched out the shape that I wanted. I didn’t want anything too clean, so I just didn’t a little squiggle and started painting. I rolled the large part of it on with a tiny roller and then just used a regular brush to get the edges. I did OK. I’m not the best painter I realize. I’m also not totally in love with the shape but it’ll do for now.

That was about it! It’s super simple and easy to clean; just a damp cloth will clean it right off. I loved this becuase I didn’t have to go get paint tinted and it really is a great way to add pop to a wall. I’ve seen posts on TONS of other blogs about using chalkboard paint on furniture too to give it a bit of an antique look, so I may have to do that too.

Later!

2 Responses to “DIY Chalkboard Paint”

  1. gelisgoodies April 18, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

    I’m totally addicted to chalkboard paint and I haven’t even tried it yet! I think your wall turned out great and you’ve inspired me to make my own instead of buying.

  2. pillowsalamode June 5, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

    That looks lovely! 🙂

Leave a Reply

