Monday Munchie Guest Post: No-Bake Peanut Butter Treats

7 May

So this week is a cheat; I got my sister to write this week’s post. Here’s my “Monday Munchie” from my oh so talented big sister Theresa (AKA B). Take it away B!

Because I have a serious sweet tooth and I live in a house of salty snackers, whenever I can I   volunteer to bring desserts to get-togethers. The theory is that I’ll have the satisfaction of creating and sampling a dessert, but I won’t be able to eat the entire batch like I end up doing every time I make something for my own home…

After looking on the internet for 20+ minutes to find a new recipe to try, I realized I was running out of time so I ended up modifying several recipes to fit what I had on hand. The result is very tasty, versatile (perfect for using up aging or “expired” ingredients) and unbelievably easy to make. If you can use a microwave, you can make this dessert!

  • 1 cup butter, melted
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup confectioners sugar    (more or less depending on personal taste. These are very sweet and rich!)
  • 1/2 cup+ chopped roasted peanuts
  • 2 cups crackers, crushed (I used graham crackers the first batch and stale oyster crackers the second time. I think some crushed pretzels would be a great add-in here too and am considering trying rice krispies at some point to lighten up the bar.)
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (I used mostly semi-sweet with a sprinkle of milk chocolate chips)
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter (you can also use shortening for thinner chocolate if you prefer)

Directions: Combine first 5 ingredients and press into (9×9) pan (but pan size would really just depend on how thick/ thin you want the bars. I used a mini muffin tin this past time but I don’t think the aesthetics of mine were worth the extra time.). Melt chocolate chips and tablespoon PB (double boiler or microwave in bursts is fine too). Spread chocolate over top of bars and smooth. Place in fridge to set (at least a couple hours). Cut if necessary and store in fridge or freezer (can be eaten frozen too, yum!). I have no idea how long they last because they’re only around  here for a few days. Hope you enjoy them if you give these a shot!

Some of you may have noticed that I used a water bottle to close up the chocolate chip bag up above. I saw this idea on Pinterest at some point and have been using it ever since on a variety of packages. I love up-cycling and this idea works very well. Sometimes depending on the contents, the water bottle top allows you to just pour out the item too!

 I have to say that these things are SOOO good. I had to stop myself from eating about 10 at once!. Thanks for sharing sis!

Leave a Reply

