Monday Munchie: Cous cous Salad

14 May

I am still alive I swear!! I’ve been having some issues with my computer recently. For some reason I cant get onto my blog to post by regular means so I’m writing this on my phone. I did just learn that I can get to it through a totally round about method.. annoying. Please forgive the missing punctuation. I do have some good food to share though!

So when I lived in Spain there was this Moroccan place we used to eat at all the time. Seriously… some of the best food of my life. Anyway, this is when I first had cous cous. They served the food in two “rounds” of 4 dishes (usually 4 of us went) with the lighter stuff going first and then more hot food with meat was for the main dishes. Anyway they used to serve a light cous cous salad that was amazing. Here is my version:

image

(To make 2 servings)
Prepare cous cous per package instructions. I think I used 1/3 cup dry and 1/2 cup water.
1 medium roma tomato diced
1/2 fresh cucumber diced
Lemon and lime juice (around 2 tbs of eat for some nice bite)
1/2 tbs diced garlic
1/2 cup minced fresh mint leaves
1/2 cup fresh parsley (I had to use dried so I cut that back)
Salt and pepper to taste

Cook cous cous per box instructions.
Once it’s cooled down, add olive oil and some lemon and lime juice and mix. Then add the mint, parsley, cucumber, salt, pepper, tomatoes and rest of lime juice and mix. It’s best to let this sit at least an hour before serving, if not over night so the flavors can really blend. tomatoes

I also added a little bit of feta cheese to add a little extra flava.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

