Monday Munchie: Blackened Tilapia Sandwich

21 May

Happy Monday!

As many of my food posts begin, I was inspired by today’s recipe from my travels. When we were in Istanbul, Turkey back in September (which in general I will say has AMAZING food) one of our favorite meals we had was from Deniz Yıldızı, “Star of the Sea…. AKA Floating Fish Boat.

They only serve one thing here; a fish sandwich. The sandwiches are grilled in salt and served with cut up onions and lettuce and served on Turkish sourdough bread. The best thing? The sandwiches were about $1 US each. Love it. These guys were pros too. The boat was rocking kinda crazy, meanwhile they are just grilling, and “plating” like crazy. Not to mention that there were a couple of these boats in a row with a little tent out front where everyone sat after they grabbed their sandwich direct from one of the guys on the boat.

The fish was incredibly fresh with just enough seasoning. The bread was soft. Makes my mouth water just thinking about it. We also got some pretty good little dessert thingys. I have no idea honestly; someone walked by selling them and I took one look and said “yes please!”. I think they had some honey on them. Anyway, I decided that I wanted this meal in Turkey to inspire our dinner one night. Here’s what I came up with.

This really was a simple dish and it ended up being really good. Here are the ingredients:

  • Tilapia filets
  • Paprika
  • Garlic salt
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Italian seasoning
  • Crushed sea salt and crushed black pepper
  • Crushed red pepper flakes
  • Sliced peppers (I used red, orange, and yellow)
  • Sliced red onions
  • Fresh French bread

I’m really sorry that I don’t have the exact measurements, but I always sometimes I feel like cooking is more real when you don’t follow directions to a T. I learned this from my mother. Thanks mom 🙂

Anyway, I mixed the seasoning into a bowl until I thought it had the right flavor and then just sprinkled the seasoning on the fish before I threw them into a pan with olive oil to cook. Fish only takes a little over 5 mins, so watch it carefully so you don’t burn it. It also should only be flipped once as it’ll break apart easily.

At the same time (or a little before I put the fish on), I sautéed my peppers and onions (also in olive oil and a little salt) so they’d be ready to top my sandwiches. I also served this sandwich with some of my favorite side; fresh green beans sautéed in olive oil (see a pattern developing? think I learned to cook in Spain? :)) and fresh minced garlic with some salt.

It was a really different way to eat Tilapia and I really liked it. I knew I liked blacked grouper sandwiches so I figured this would be a hit as well. And per usual… I was right. 😉 I thought about using some chili powder too. Maybe next time.

Any other good ways to serve Tilapia? I’m trying to get us healthier so your tips are greatly appreciated.

Have a wonderful week!

One Response to “Monday Munchie: Blackened Tilapia Sandwich”

  1. Karyn May 21, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    mmmmm!

Leave a Reply

